top of page

The White Room

Task: A Radio play


[SFX: Thick heavy rope, swinging - then footsteps tentatively approaching.]


COLIN (CHOKING)

Excuse me… Yes, you… Don’t just stand there, gawping. Can you get a chair please? … As soon as, oh God…


[SFX: Footsteps retreat, then a heavy chair is dragged into position.]


COLIN

Thanks. (GASPING) Phew. That was close, huh? (HE COUGHS)


ELIAS

What is this place?


COLIN

No. I’m fine. Thanks for asking.


ELIAS

What?


COLIN

Never mind. I have no idea. I’ve been hanging around for some time now… Ha! Geddit? Hanging around! Ba-dum-tish!


ELIAS

What?


COLIN

Don’t concern yourself with it all. People come and go at a surprising rate.


ELIAS

How long have you been here?


COLIN

Ah. Now. That’s a tricky question to answer because Time, here, is … difficult to gauge.


ELIAS (UNZIPPING A COAT POCKET)

My watch has stopped. And my phone doesn’t work.


COLIN

What’s that?


ELIAS (ZIPPING UP)

Nothing.


COLIN

Really? It looked like something strapped to -


ELIAS

It’s nothing. You were saying something about the time.


COLIN

Yes. I was, wasn’t I? I have no clue how long I have been here.


ELIAS

So why hang yourself from the noose?


COLIN

I was bored.


ELIAS

And the get-up?


COLIN

What do you mean?


ELIAS

Why are you dressed as a clown? And a scary one at that? A good job I’m not afraid of clowns, ha?


COLIN

Yes. I could tell by your demeanour when you arrived. You do not suffer from coulrophobia. Many people do.


ELIAS

So why the costume?


COLIN

Trying to avoid sarcasm, let’s just say it’s because ... I’m a clown.


ELIAS

Who tried to hang himself? Not very funny.


COLIN

Not all clowns are.


ELIAS

You’re not. You look stupid. What’s your name?


COLIN

Colin.


ELIAS

Colin The Clown? That’s a shit name.


COLIN

No! That’s MY name. I’m dressed as Bumble The Clown. Or Mr Bumble to you! Wa-hay!


[SFX: Hand-horn hoots twice.]


ELIAS

Sad.


[SFX: ELIAS walks away.]


COLIN

You won’t be able to leave until your name is called. You may as well grab yourself a chair and sit down.


[SFX: COLIN sits, sighing with the relief.]


What’s your favourite colour?


ELIAS

This room is so white, but there’s no obvious place where the light’s coming from.


COLIN

A white poodle coming up.


[SFX: A hand pump inflating a balloon.]


I don’t think it can be called a room if it doesn’t have windows or doors.


[SFX: Tying a knot in the balloon.]


I would refer to this place as a Space.


[SFX: Modelling the balloon, whilst talking.]


A White Space. Admittedly, there’s no obvious floor or ceiling either. And don’t even think of wandering off in search of a wall. I’ve tried. There simply isn’t one. There’s only me and a few people that come and go.


ELIAS

Am I dead?


COLIN

What’s your last thought?


ELIAS

I remember hoping it wouldn’t hurt.


COLIN

What wouldn’t?


ELIAS

The explosion.


COLIN

Then, yes. I assume you’ve died… There you are. One white poodle. Ooh. Let me get a marker and draw a nose…


[SFX: Squeaking.]


… a mouth …


[SFX: Squeaking.]


… and two happy eyes …


[SFX: Squeaking.]


… Explosion, eh? Sounds violent.


ELIAS

It was meant to be. I blew myself up and, hopefully, many western soldiers, too.


COLIN (SIGHING)

And you have the balls to claim I’m sad. Well you don’t deserve this.


[SFX: Balloon being popped and ripped from its shape.]


ELIAS

I never asked for your shitty balloon. You presumed. Like the Western governments presume they know what’s best for my country and my people.


COLIN

And what country is that?


ELIAS

You know what. Afghanistan.


COLIN

I’m not Afghan. I’m British.


ELIAS

Then how can you understand me?


COLIN

I’ve been here long enough to know language is irrelevant. We all understand each other with the one tongue… Well, when I say understand… How could you kill innocent people?


ELIAS

They are not innocent. They are all Westerners or linked to the evil West.


COLIN

Waiting for your virgins now, are we?


ELIAS

Trying to be funny, clown? Ha?


COLIN

Ooh. What you going to do? Hit me? Kill me? Blow yourself up again? That’s what I saw strapped round your chest just now. It’s the explosive vest, isn’t it? Ridiculous.


ELIAS

Think I’m ridiculous, do you? Me? Look in a mirror sometime. At least I died for what I believe in. I have faith in something. What do you have?


[SFX: Little honk.]


COLIN (NASAL)

Don’t squeeze my nose! Ouch! Let go!!


ELIAS

Not smiling now, are we? Pathetic.


COLIN

No need to be so violent. All that testosterone pumping through you. Use your brain for a change.


ELIAS

You want more?


COLIN

No no no no no. Please. But you’ve no idea how much it hurts when you squeeze my nose like that.


ELIAS

Then take it off.


COLIN

I can’t. It’s a permanent fixture. Just like your vest. There’s no way you’ll get it off. Not here. You’re stuck with it. Like me and my make-up.


[SFX: ELIAS unzipping his jacket and trying to remove his clothing and the vest. As he struggles, COLIN talks.]


People come and people go. Most are in denial. Some don’t stay long... (TO HIMSELF) and the sooner you’re called, the better… (TO ELIAS) Look. Stop it. Just accept that they won’t come off.


[SFX: ELIAS slows down, then stops. He slumps into the chair and sobs.]


Hey, now. It’s not that bad. Not that you can do anything about it. Cheer up. Would you like me to sing you a little song? Yes. You would, wouldn’t you? Let me see, where is it? Ah…


[SFX: A quick warm-up strum on a ukulele.]


(SINGING AND PLAYING THE UKULELE)

My Name is Mister Bumble.

You really mustn’t grumble

‘Cos when your tum does rumble

Just have an apple crumble.

My name is Mister Bumble!

I thank you. I’m here all week - don’t forget to tip the waitress!


ELIAS

… Why are you here?


COLIN

What? Whilst being an evil Westerner, you mean? And ending up in the same place as you? Confuses you, does it? Well, I have no idea.


ELIAS

Go away.


COLIN

I wish I could…


[SFX: Ukulele starts again - a different tune.]


Does your brain think all the time?

Do you search for certain rhymes?

Let’s try ‘bumble’!

There’s stumble and fumble and humble and jumble and mumble and stumble and -


[SFX: Ukulele abruptly stops.]


ELIAS

Shut up!


COLIN

Hey. Give that back.


ELIAS

Get back into your noose and hang yourself again.


COLIN

I didn’t hang myself when I died.


ELIAS

What were you doing? Your act?


COLIN

V funny.


JUNE

Ooh - a ukulele. Do you play?


ELIAS

Shit! You scared the crap out of me. Where did you come from?


COLIN

Told you people come and go, didn’t I? Weren’t you listening - or did the explosion make you deaf, too? (TO JUNE) Hello, my love.


JUNE

Oh. A clown. How marvellous.


COLIN

Have a seat.


JUNE

Thankyou, young man.


COLIN

Call me Mr Bumble. Or, as we’re being informal, Bum!


(JUNE laughs)


And what’s your name, my lovely young lady?


JUNE

I’m June.


COLIN

Born around the longest day, no doubt.


JUNE

How did you know?


COLIN

Just a wild stab in the dark - like Gordon Ramsey slicing himself during a power cut!


(JUNE laughs)


ELIAS

Unbelievable…


JUNE

Go on, then. Play me a tune.


ELIAS

I don’t play. It’s his.


JUNE

Well let him play.


[SFX: Ukulele being passed back to COLIN.]


COLIN

Any requests? No, tough, I’m gonna play anyway!


(JUNE laughs)


What would you like?


JUNE

Bring Me Sunshine?


[SFX: Ukulele playing as COLIN sings. JUNE sings along when invited.]


COLIN

Bring me sunshine in your smile.

Bring me laughter all the while -


ELIAS - Oh God.


COLIN

- In this world where we live

there should be more happiness,

So much joy you can give

To each brand new bright tomorrow.

Make me happy -


ELIAS - I don’t believe this.


COLIN

- Through the years - All together, come on June!

Never bring me any tears. (JUNE JOINS IN)

Let your arms be as warm as the sun from up above.

Bring me fun, bring me sunshine, bring me love!


Tags:

Tag Cloud
bottom of page