top of page

Ruby

The Writers' Block #40 - Theme: Ruby

Now, listen to me, young man. I’ve invited you into my dressing room because, I’m being honest here, I like your smile. But, if you want a full interview, you’d better contact my agent - although, don’t waste your time. She’ll refuse. She always does. She’s under strict instructions. Let it never be said I didn’t warn you… You got a cigarette I can have? Oh, you don’t smoke. And we were getting on so well until this point. The romance is dead! - I’m just joking. Go to that little fridge over there, will you? Inside, there should be some bubbly. You got it? Good. Bring two glasses back, unless you don’t drink as well. Such a healthy approach to life. Oh, you do have the odd tipple? Well, pour away! … These eyelashes are so old now. They’ve lasted me years, which is why I take care of them. What was that? Oh, yes, you’re right. Perhaps they’ve lasted because I take care of them! … Thankyou. Bottoms up! … Ah! That’s better. Kick off the heels, remove the make-up, drink the bubbles … So, you. What’s your name again? Chris, huh? How old are you, if you don’t mind me asking? … Oh. A little older than me, but I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking that I look haggard and old. Well, compared to you, I do. But I’ve had a tough life, ‘cause there’s so little else. Show me your hands! There, you see, you haven’t. Just compare your smooth skin to mine and look at my wizened old fingers… You don’t mind if I keep removing my mask, do you, while we chat? I need to get this foundation off before it sets for good… What was you hoping for, anyway? A headline grabbing article as Ruby Bares All? Chris, others have tried, but my lips are sealed. Everyone knows I was famous from birth - born to a mother already in the limelight. So glamorous - so level-headed. Such high things were expected of me, surrounded as I was by the stars of the time. They’ve all gone down in history, but me, somehow I got sidelined and was left to fend for myself and find my own way. As showbusiness was all around me, the only thing I knew, it felt right to keep pursuing it. And, that, Chris is as much as you’re going to get. This dressing room is my life. These costumes are what keep me going. Ruby - the show that Ruby is - always occupying my head - she’s like the whole family I never had. She loves me, she mothers me and sisters me and takes care of me. - Oh, now Chris, you may be getting the scoop you’ve been craving for, I’m getting a little upset. What is it about you? You make me open up and I’m saying things I should not be saying… Do you know my theme song? There’s a verse, the third one, that I never sing. It’s too depressing. It goes: ‘Due to lack of interest / Tomorrow is cancelled / Let the clocks be reset / And the pendulums held’ … Wait - Your name’s Chris? Say something ... Anything! - Your voice. So familiar. But I don’t have my contacts in. Let me get a good look at you … Oh, fuck. Is it really you? … Christopher Robin. As I live and breathe… Don’t tell me mother’s finally pegged it…? Oh, I can tell by your face - you want a reunion, don’t you?!

Tags:

Tag Cloud
bottom of page